Lake Ontario Offshore RacingLO300The Longest Lake Ontario 300 Challenge Ever!

The Longest Lake Ontario 300 Challenge Ever!

Once again the LO300 was a CHALLENGE!! We are checking our records but we believe this will be the longest race in LO300 history.  A true marathon!

Congratulations to Ron Smallbone on his Mirage 275 Epiphany who crossed the finish line on Wed July 18th at 11:24am after 5 days and 54 minutes of solo racing.

At the other end of the time spectrum our Line Honor winners are Malcom Little (EYC) on Little Bird an Archabault 31 on the Scotch Bonnet Course and Krzysztof Kaminski & Irek Zubko (PZZ/ YCZC) on Husaria a Farr 47 on the Main Duck Course.  Each of these winners will receive $500 courtesy of Gord Honor with Royal LePage Realty Plus.  (
Our Top Solo sailor was Brent Hughes (FBYC) on Pearl a C&C 35 MKII.  A tremendous effort in the solo fleet with 90% of the boats finishing.

The Sperry Cup winner for 2013 is Joe Doris (PCYC) on Setanta a Hanse 400.  Joe had a spectacular race leading his divisions nearly from start to finish.  Winning the Sperry Gold Cup and a very competitive IRC Fleet is Joe MacDonald (PCYC) on IMXtreme an IMX 38.  The multi-hull fleet had a close finish with less than 20 minutes separating the top 2 boats.  In the end Colin Wartman (KYC) on Proclivity a Farrier Trimaran was the overall winner.

Congratulations to all of the division winners and all participants for taking on the 2013 LO300 challenge.  Given that the race lasted as long as it did the awards ceremony was postponed. Information will follow with details about when and how the flag ceremony will happen. You can check out the results here. You can also replay the journey here.

Pictures of the start can be viewed and purchased from CL Buchanan Photography at a nominal cost. She has taken some great pictures so don’t forget to check them out.

I am really pleased to share that the post-race inspection process was well received.  In the end 10 boats were inspected and all passed.  I would like to thank all of the sponsors, LOOR volunteers, members and staff of PCYC and all of the participants for making 2013 a great and memorable year!

Darren Gornall
Chair, Lake Ontario Offshore Racing 2013